Photoshop before and after

When I began editing my photo from yesterdays post, I sat down and watched a few tutorials, a lot of them were from Strawberry Singh. She gives some really great insight on what she does when processing a picture. I find I’m more organized while editing now and it has become a lot less frustrating. I’m still in the beginning stages of processing photos though, so my talent is no where near that of Ms. Singh but I’ll keep on practicing.

Below is the before photo, completely raw shot straight from SLImage

I started with sharpening the photo and adjusting the hue and saturation, I moved on to liquify and smudge to fix some of the awkward blockiness the sl avatar makes in certain poses, I also like to round things out a bit..make it more squishy/real looking. Highlights & shadows were up next, and I think this is probably my favorite part..but I tend to go a little overboard sometimes..and I forget to create a new layer from the last..so I end up deleting it and starting over..haaaa (always make new layers). After that, I decided to toss in some texture/grass and more clouds, I think it really suits the picture. Lastly I adjusted the color balance and blurred the background, giving it that bit of depth of field needed to really create distance. What do you think? I’m quite proud of the outcome, but I’m sure there is much more I need to learn.Image
You’ll find the credits for the outfit/location in the previous post.
I hope you all have a great 4th of July/ a great Thursday depending on where you are in the world!

Leave a Reply

